Member Awards Nominations 2023

Introduction to the awards

BCDHA offers an awards and grants program that recognizes valued contributions of members, provides support for innovative projects and highlights the achievements of students.

This page focuses on the three different awards that are adjudicated and presented by the BCDHA.

All nominations must be received at the BCDHA office on or before March 1st of any year.


Barbara J. Heisterman Award

For Outstanding Innovation and Commitment to Care. This award is given annually to a Registered Dental Hygienist/Dental Hygiene Practitioner who best exemplifies the outstanding and unique attributes and values of Barbara J. Heisterman, British Columbia’s first Mobile Residential Care Dental Hygienist.

Dianne Gallagher Inspiration Award

This award is presented annually and recognizes and honours a dental hygienist or dental hygiene student who has challenged or inspired other dental hygienists to make their personal and/or professional futures better.

BCDHA members can nominate a dental hygienist or dental hygiene student for this prestigious award.

Life Membership

Life Membership in the British Columbia Dental Hygienists’ Association is awarded to an active member of the Association who has made an outstanding contribution to BCDHA over a number of years.